I. ABOUT THE CAMPUS

The University of Missouri-Rolla is the location of one of the four University of Missouri campuses – with others at Columbia, Kansas City, and St. Louis.

Governing these campuses is the Board of Curators whose members are appointed by the Governor of Missouri and confirmed by the Missouri Senate. The President of the University directs and coordinates programs of all four campuses with assistance from staff in finance, business management, academic affairs, research, extension, development, public information, and other University services.

The activities of each campus are under the supervision of a Chancellor, who directs campus affairs within policies established by the Board of Curators and the President.

The University of Missouri has a long and proud history. It was established at Columbia in 1839, only 18 years after Missouri became a state. It is a land-grant university and is recognized as the first state university west of the Mississippi River. It is also a member of the American Association of Universities.

The University remained a single campus institution until 1870 when the University of Missouri School of Mines and Metallurgy (the former designation of UMR) was established at Rolla. Campuses at St. Louis and Kansas City were added in 1963.

The Board of Curators on July 1, 1964, took action to rename the University of Missouri School of Mines and Metallurgy the University of Missouri-Rolla. The UMR campus encompasses about 284 acres and combines both old and new architecture.