

Missouri University of Science and Technology

Formerly University of Missouri-Rolla

General Faculty Meeting Minutes

September 6, 2011

125 Bulter-Carlton Hall, 4:00 P.M.

- Call-to-Order, Interim Chancellor Warren K. Wray called the meeting of the General Faculty to order at 4:00 P.M.
- II. Announcements None
- III. Memorial Resolutions None
- Interim Chancellor Wray called for approval of the minutes of the May 3, 2011 meeting. The minutes were approved as circulated.
- V. Unfinished Business None
- VI. Reports of Standing and Special Committees None
- VII. Interim Chancellor Wray introduced the Officers of the General Faculty

Warren K. Wray – President Michael Davis – Vice President James Martin - Parliamentarian Laura Stoll – Secretary

VIII. Introduction of New Faculty

Interim Provost Schwartz introduced new faculty:

Aaron Eckstein, Lecturer of Arts, Languages and Philosophy

- Dr. Joel Dittmer, Assistant Professor of Arts, Languages and Philosophy
- Dr. Chen Hou, Assistant Professor of Biological Science
- Dr. Matthew Thimgan, Assistant Professor of Biological Science
- Dr. Nicholas Lockwood, Assistant Professor of Business & Information Technology
- Dr. Sarah Stanley, Assistant Professor of Business & Information Technology
- Dr. Joseph Smith, Professor/Wayne and Gayle Laufer Endowed Chair in Energy of Chemical and Biological Engineering
- Dr. Amitava Choudhury, Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Emmalou Satterfield, Lecturer, Chemistry

- Dr. Honglan Shi, Assistant Research Professor, Chemistry
- Dr. Bate Bate, Assistant Professor of Civil Engineering, Architectural and Environmental Engineering
- Dr. Chien-Chung Chen, Assistant Teaching Professor of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering
- Dr. Ian Prowell, Assistant Professor, Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering
- Dr. Kamal Khayat, Professor and Vernon and Maralee Jones Endowed Chair of Civil Engineering
- Dr. ZhaoZheng Yin, Assistant Professor, Computer Science
- Dr. Mahelet Fikru, Assistant Professor of Economics
- Dr. Victor Khilkevich, Associate Research Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
- Dr. Theresa Odun-Ayo, Assistant Teaching Professor (MSU), of Electrical and Computer Engineering
- Dr. Yaojiang Zhang, Associate Research Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
- Dr. Olivia Burgess, Assistant Teaching Professor of English and Technical Communication
- Dr. Daniel Reardon, Assistant Professor of English and Technical Communication
- Dr. Joan Schuman, Assistant Teaching Professor of Engineering Management and Systems Engineering

Office of the Registrar • 103 Parker Hall • 300 West 13th Street • Rolla, MO 65409-0930

Phone: 573-341-4181 • Fax: 573-341-4362 • Email: registrar@mst.edu • Web: http://registrar.mst.edu

- Dr. Shadab Anwar, Assistant Professor of Geological Sciences and Engineering
- Dr. Mingzhen Wei, Assistant Research Professor, Geological Sciences and Engineering
- Dr. Kathleen Sheppard, Assistant Professor of History and Political Science
- Dr. Surender Maddela, Assistant Research Professor of Materials Research Center
- Dr. Jeremy Watts, Assistant Research Professor of Materials Science and Engineering
- Dr. Gayla Olbricht, Assistant Professor of Mathematics and Statistics
- Dr. Paul Runnion, Assistant Teaching Professor of Mathematics and Statistics
- Dr. Xiaodong Yang, Assistant Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
- Dr. Ayodeji Alajo, Assistant Professor of Mining and Nuclear Engineering

IX. New Business

A. Chancellor's Report

Interim Chancellor Wray gave a report on the profile of the new freshmen students for the Fall 2011.

B. Faculty Senate Report

Faculty Senate President Michael Davis gave a report on the Chancellor search, Vice Provost and Dean of Enrollment Management search, and updates from the Intercampus Faculty Council (IFC).

- X. Adjournment The meeting was adjourned at 4:15 pm.
- XI. Executive Session Interim Chancellor Wray presented the candidates for honorary degrees. Ballots were distributed with the results to be forwarded by Interim Chancellor Wray to the President.